The Second Presidential Debate Is Over… Who Won?

The debate getting a little heated.

Tonight I was a little behind on the debate.  Story of my life it seems.  The first debate I was on a fishing trip and forgot to record it.  I had to work on my house and ended up missing the VP debate, luckily I recorded that one.  Tonight, however, I was invited to a debate party and got there late.  It seems anytime I want to watch a presidential debate live something comes up and I have to rely on my DVR, or in this case a friends DVR.  Luckily I have great friend, they paused the debate before it started and waited for me and my family to show.  So I was only like twenty minutes behind.

Now like I said I missed the first debate, and I still haven’t seen it, but from what I’ve read and seen in the news, it was no contest.  So, in the back of my mind, I kind of hoped that this debate would be the same, although I knew it wouldn’t be.  There were a lot of questions I think should have been brought up but weren’t, i.e. the Muslim Brotherhood members being invited to the White House, Muslim Brotherhood infiltration in our government, and Obama avoiding Netanyahu like the plague.

I was impressed by most of Romney’s answers, though two minutes seems like a lot of time to give someone to answer simple questions, just my opinion.  I say give a short well thought out answer and let Obama take up the rest of the time defending his ineptitude. By the second or third question I was tired of hearing Romney talk.  Not because he wasn’t giving good answers, it just drug on and on.  Obama was no different I need to add.  He spent a lot of his time calling Romney a liar, two to three minutes at a time.

Romney did a very good job of keeping Obama on his toes the whole time.  He brought up broken promises and his failures as president.  Governor Romney answered pretty well on issues such as immigration reform, energy independence, the second amendment, and especially the last question about, basically, debunking misrepresentations of his character.  That last one was one of his better answers.  However, on a few of the questions, it seemed like he kind of walked around it and gave an answer that didn’t really address the actual question.  For example, when asked what he would do with the illegal aliens that are hard-working, he just talked about immigration reform and was basically asked a second time to answer the actual question, which he then did very well.  All in all I would say he had a solid debate overall though.

Obama on the other hand was more like a… a bratty kid?  Maybe a little more Biden-esque in the fact he was definitely more aggressive and interruptive.  At one point he almost seemed pissed, you could see it in his face.  The “altitude” really didn’t seem to affect him as much this time.  I would have to say he did pretty well in his overall response to questions and staying engaged.  Though he never seemed to answer any questions directly.  It seemed that every answer was “Romney is a liar and here is why,” followed by an explanation that based in liberal talking points, it was just the same Obama talking points over and over again.  He must have been studying those non-stop the past two weeks.  I can hear Michelle now. “No intelligence meetings until you memorize those talking points backwards and forwards, and eat those brussel sprouts, now!”  There’s not much else to say about his performance, just redistribution and republicans are evil.

All in all I will say it was a little hard for me to determine a winner of the debate.  Even though they both did fairly well.  If I had to put money on it, I would say that Romney won by a slim to medium margin.  However, according to FOX News, out of their focus groups Romney was definitely the winner by far.  I don’t know, but if that is accurate with the undecided voters, then I say hallelujah!

One other thing I wanted to bring up was the moderator, Candy Crowley.  I think she was probably the best moderator this year, however I would say she was definitely trying to help Obama a couple of times.  Not surprising the MSM will always do that.  No matter how much they try to hide it just can’t portray a balanced, unbiased image.  I just hope that this debate was enough to help boost Romney toward a sustainable lead.

In case you missed it here is the debate in its entirety.

Categories: Political | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

